Three Piece Suite perform in Blackheath

BANC Uncategorized Leave a Comment


In their first concert series for 2016, the musicians of string trio Three Piece Suite invite you to join them on a musical voyage through the lands and history of Europe. Departing from the Blackheath Presbyterian Church on the 3rd April at 4pm, Europa takes in 3 centuries and 4 countries in 5 varied works.

The journey begins in Madrid in 1772, with Boccherini’s colourful Trio in D major, then moves to Vienna in 1798 for Beethoven’s dramatic and stormy Trio in Cminor, where not many years later in 1816, Schubert wrote his wistful, unfinished Trio in Bb major. We then move to Terezin in 1944, the Nazi concentration camp where Czech composer Hans Krasa was interned. His Tanec (Dance) evokes the sounds and rhythms of trains, an eerie premonition of the one that would soon take him to his death in Auschwitz. Our final stop is England in 1975, with Howard Blake’s optimistic and pastoral Trio.

The musicians, Rachel Westwood, violin, Valmai Coggins, viola and Deborah Coogan, cello, hope you can join them.

No visas or passports required! You can buy tickets at the door (cash only) or online, $20 for adults, $5 for children.

Venue: Blackheath Presbyterian Church, 123 Wentworth Street

Date & Time: Sunday 3 April at 4pm

Tickets: Adult $20, Child $5



Phone: 9797 7227 or 0418 436 727

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *